Talk the Walk

Yeah that’s right, I’m talking the walk vs walking the talk.

Today was one of those how am I going to going to squeeze in a work out kind of days…

I can recall when I would have rushed to the gym and sped through a circuit weight training routine, or laced up my running shoes and run out the door for a cheap mile or two. With age comes wisdom; so the say. Being on the precipice of 60, I decided against the aforementioned options and chose a walk. I know I can’t believe it either! The humidity is unbearable and to be honest I was too lazy to get running gear on, but I wanted to move, so I went for a walk.

This is new ground for me – Choosing to go slower and getting some form of exercise rather than rush and risk injury going stronger. So during my walk I wondered to myself am I slowing down because I’m choosing to or have to? I didn’t have to do anything, I’ve had some strong workouts already this week, but yet I avoided my old compulsion to go hard or nothing. Choosing something simple, less stressful, more mindful was excuse me”a step in the right direction.” A Satori of sorts, I love that even as we age we can grow and learn – Espescially about ourselves.

I’m here to tell you if you ever find yourself in a similar predicament WALK… You may discover a bit of peace or a piece of insight…

There you have it my Talking the Walk…

Gin

 

 

Leave a Reply

