Child’s Play

Living with cats, or any companion animal teaches us many things. One of the biggest lessons my cats teach me is to be true to my nature.  Cats do cat – They don’t pretend to be anything else but what they are – Staying true to their nature they often behave as they did as kittens. This is one of my favorite sides of my cats personality. For instance Sage my good natured tabby waits outside the bathtub anticipating a rousing game of tug a towel. Gracie the neurotic tuxedo lies and waits by my feet until I remove my running shoes, she loves shoelaces.

My cats play helps me tap into my inner child as well, because I play along with them. They’ve taught me to enjoy my running, cycling and even my martial arts more. I find the simplicity in those activities I’d forgotten about. I think less about times, distances and reps and more about the pure joy of the activity. I guess you can say what used to be playing became working out and now it’s all “Child’s Play.”

GOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

One thought on “Child’s Play

Leave a Reply

