Sunrise Run

Today was the day for the Pell Bridge Run ( the infamous bridge on the RI State quarter). The weather cooperated nicely, temps in the low 50’s with overcast skies, the wind was between 10 and 15mph. I was awake at 4am and out of the house at 5am (I know crazy), it was so peaceful driving into Newport it gave me plenty of time to gather my thoughts on why I love this run so much. First there’s the novelty of running over a two mile bridge toward one of the most historic seaports in the world – With the sunrising behind it no less! Add in the fact that it takes place on Veterans Day weekend, running with countless service men and woman not to mention the veterans is a privilege, and a great opportunity for me to thank them for their service. Makes this a must run, for me every year!

The course was adjusted so we ended at the yachting center, which meant I had to walk Thames Street back to my car. This was a great! I got to cool down my legs and literally walk down memory lane. Thames, is where my friends and I spent countless hours during our time at Newport Hospital School of Nursing. The shops were all closed and the street was quiet (for Newport) and it was a blissful and for a quick moment tear-filled walk. Frankly I don’t know if I was crying over my lost youth or just how overwhelmingly blessed I was feeling? My guess, it was a combination of both!

Till next year,

G

NPT from Jamestown

 

One thought on “Sunrise Run

Leave a Reply

