Triggers

Today’s run was full of memory triggers. The air was crisp and clean with the bluest of New England Autumn Skies. It seemed there was a trigger for every step I ran. Running through the fallen leafs took me back to all those fall morning walks to school and the delightful crunch beneath my feet. The musky scent in the air reminded me of playing out in the fields in front of my house building forts.  Fallen pine needles took me to my aunt Virginia’s house on Maple Av, to the pine tree we all climbed and collecting pine cones. The gorgeous russet and gold of this run elated and saddened me at the same time – Delighted with the beauty and saddened by the passage of time and the coming of winter. Here’s hoping warm memories will ease the cold and dark of winter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

