Alone not Selfish…

Being a bit of a loner I enjoy activities where I don’t have to depend on another person. Hence, martial arts, running, golf, hiking, kayaking, photography, kite flying to name but a few. It’s not that I don’t like people around, I enjoy company and even competition. Its that when I’m alone I don’t have to worry or be aware of another’s wants or needs. This may sound selfish but it’s not. In fact it’s because of all the time, energy and love I invest in others that requires me to take these mini sabbaticals.

When I run alone its the universe I listen to, not a running companions rant on the state of his/her world. Practicing sword in the dojo my soul is united with all the masters of the past, not the distraction of a correction that needs to be made by a student. When at the driving range or golfing alone it is my swing I practice not political correctness of customer relations. While hiking or biking alone it’s the terrain and the view not wondering when a companion needs to stop. With photography it is stealing a moment that I alone see and share only if I want to and today I want to, enjoy alone or with a friend…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

