Sharing The Path…

Sometimes I feel like Rip Van-Winkle and I just woke up and realized how much time has passed! I’ve had two such realizations in the past two days; The first was during a kickboxing workout with my staff – I realized my age 56 was the sum of their ages 33 and 23! That was daunting just for a moment because I was rocking the 23 year old holding pads with a left hook… The second and more significant came today when I celebrated a birthday lunch with my karate daughter Jess who first came into my life at age 8. Jess has been a student and now the parent of two students at my school for twenty-one years! Through that time she has grown from a shy unsure student of the martial arts, to a black belt, a valued staff member, a college graduate, mother, and wife. I’ve been blessed to have been a small part of this young woman’s incredible journey. It amazes me how quickly time has passed and the twists and turns that have occurred on this path called life, more importantly I’m glad I woke up to the realization to the special people who are sharing my path…

Leave a Reply

