A New Look At Mom

We take advantage of those who are closest to us and no one gets taken advantage of more than our mothers. So today was all about giving mom a day for her and a day for me to take a good look at the woman who gave me life…

My mom will be eighty in July. Her mind is very youthful and still keen, she doesn’t move as quickly and doesn’t see or hear as well but she is very much the same woman who brought me into this world. Sarah is still the center cog in my families’ machine; tending to friends, cats indoor and feral, my cousin’s dogs, my cousins and her beloved John. She cooks cleans two houses, sews, does her water colors, bakes and occasionally still pens a letter to the editor for the local paper. 

Mom was born and brought up in  the same town she still resides in and once lead (former Town Administrator). Besides being a municipal leader she was a house keeper, realtor, owned her own business, worked for the State at D.O.T. and for the Attorney General. She’s belonged to many local organizations and has contributed immensely to her community.

Never to shy away from helping others she befriended many elderly residents and visited, cooked for and taxied them until they passed away. When we were younger she took in family members in need. She was the primary caretaker for my cousin who is on the spectrum until we could get services. 

Even knowing all this about my incredible mom it wasn’t until I saw her hutch littered with Mother’s Day cards from friends, family members, dogs, and cats (I only have one brother). The amount of loving wishes from those cards made me realize my mother is “The Mother, A True Matriarch” I am so filled with pride, and feel so blessed that she is not only my Mother, but my friend and mentor… 

I’m so grateful to all those who sent my mom those lovely cards you opened my eyes and my heart to really see my Mom…

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

