Spirits Past Present and Future…

This was a Christmas not unlike Dickens’ A Christmas Carol. I was aware of the Spirits of Christmas all through the day. Ironically it started with the falling snow at midnight as Bing and company sang White Christmas; This was my visit from Christmas past, all those evenings after friends and family left and before we went to bed or opened gifts (depending on age) The familiar movie classic played on our TV. Sitting in front of the television while dad sat in “his chair” we’d recite all the “good” parts like we did with all the old movies… I also recalled the Christmas Eve we all went caroling with a portable record player. Then there was the time in nursing school when we visited a classmates elderly widower neighbor and brought him a tree and decorated it with him.

I was brought back to the present with my cats playing with the paper on the beautifully wrapped gifts from students and friends. As I opened each one I felt blessed not by their offerings but their thoughtfulness and love. I looked on my tree at the many ornaments from students from the past and felt blessed by what I choose to do with my life.

When I awoke it was to praise the day and to thank the Lord for all that is and was. I called my mother to wish her a Merry Christmas and thought of a future without that call, and thought Spirit of Christmas Yet To Be is the Spector I fear the most. Not dwelling on the future I returned to the present feeling the sadness of the passing of my dear friend Shirley. Which was somehow lessened by a very special gift from my brother, (Shirley usually gave me something she made like the knitted socks I was wearing). I opened a beautiful handmade afghan like my grandmother would make. When I asked my brother where did he find a Portuguese grandmother in AZ? He laughed and told me he was the grandmother! My brother made me an afghan, apparently he’d taken up crocheting a year ago. So I did get needle work for Christmas.

There were empty place settings at the table. It seems there’s less people each year, but  just as much love and  joy as ever, and like Scrooge, I kept the three spirits well t0day

God Bless Us Everyone!

Ginnie

There

Leave a Reply

