Run To The Past…

Those of you who run know that no two runs are alike. Each run has its own story (which is why I started this blog). Today’s run was incredibly memorable on all levels. I participated in the Pell Bridge Run (for non Rhode Islanders it’s a bridge that connects the city of Newport to the town of Jamestown). The run is unusual in a few ways, first it starts at 6:30am, you are shuttled from Newport to Jamestown for the start, and the distance is 4miles. So when I first saw this race pop up on in my email I found it both intriguing because it was different and a challenge to run (a lovely incline). I registered immediately without hesitation. When I spoke about it to a few friends who also run they didn’t seem to be inclined to be at a race for a 5am bus ride to Jamestown!

I was up before the sun, 3:45am! Drove to Newport and stood in line with the rest of the sleepy excited participants. Once I arrived in Jamestown and saw the bridge all lit up I knew this was going to be a day to remember. It was a story Dickens could’ve penned! It started with me running into a parent of a student present, then as if on cue a parent of a student past (recent past). After conversing with the mom’s I got in line with the rest of the racers and we were off…

The first part of the race was about maneuvering through the heard of runners. As we approached the bridge the dawn was breaking and the light was amazing and it started to feel surreal, like I was in a dream. It wasn’t until I reached the crest of the bridge that it hit me! I was running to my past. It was a scene out of Heaven Can Wait – From the top of the bridge I looked down through the braking dawn to the silhouette of Newport. Where I came of age at Newport Hospital School of Nursing. It was no longer 2012 but 1978 this where my iTunes kicked in with Forever Young!

The decent from the bridge was tear-filled as memories flooded my mind, the familiar places, reminding me of the special people and events that helped shape me into who I am today… It was a dream in which I was fully awake! It was good to go home again…

What a gift!

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

