Name Changer…

I’ve just finished reading Wild by Cheryl Strayed. The book was awesome on so many levels. The most compelling part for me had nothing to do with hiking the Pacific Coast Trail. It was Cheryl choosing a new name after getting a divorce. The fact that she could create another identity one that would identify her amazed me – She chose Strayed.

This got me to thinking about my name. I’ve had the same last name for 55 years it was a given even before my parents decided to name me Virginia. My last name has been with me from the moment I took a breath never altered (except by the non English speaking telle-marketers). Whereas my first name has had many versions; Virginia,Ginny, Ginnie, Gin, and Gin-gin. I’ve had a host of headings attached to my last name, Ms, Miss, Master, Sensei and Nurse and a few titles at the end; RN. and Sixth Dan. So the thought of altering the one thing besides my body I own, intrigued me.

If I were to choose another last name it would probably be Ran. I’ve run to and from things both literally and metaphorically. I have run into things and out of things – Ran a business, a household, a nursing shift and various functions. I would be best described as a person who ran things and has been run by things so Ran would be fitting. If you could change your last name to fit you what would it be?

Gin

Leave a Reply

