Leader Of The Band…

After a day immersed in Oprah’s Master Classes, and Super Soul Sunday, I’ve had a lot to digest. There were so many AHA moments, but two stuck with me while I was running. How Oprah explained all the synchronicity that lead to who she was. Second was her passion about teaching and making a difference. As I ran I tried to retrace my steps back to a seemingly insignificant moment that has molded me into the teacher I am today.

I don’t recall the year but I was either in seventh or eighth grade. My brother had come home from school asking my mother if he could take drum lessons (this was inevitable he drummed on everything since he was a toddler). Oh no I thought another way for him to get more attention than me! Really the only reason I decided to play an instrument was I was jealous of my younger brother. I asked my mother if I could also play an instrument. Knowing her favorite instrument was the saxophone that’s the one I chose. The only stipulation was that I had to play it until I graduated high school. Little did I know how this would impact my life forever. As you may have guessed jealousy is not a good foundation to start anything. Yet when I first got my sax I was excited and thought I squeaked and squawked through Twinkle ,Twinkle Little Star pretty well. After a month of group lessons my teacher thought I could use private lessons (you can imagine why). Mr. Roger Dietz my saxophone teacher and eventual high school band director was about to create a monster!

You’re probably thinking wow she got great at playing the saxophone – Hardly I got a first hand account on how to instill confidence. I was so afraid to make a mistake I could hardly play yet Mr. Dietz allowed me and others like me to be in the band. Knowing that if I could find my confidence and overcome my shyness I could eventually learn. That’s exactly what came to pass, when I found my confidence I was good enough for second or third chair. Yet the biggest gift was I found my voice. The band was a place where I felt accepted and a part of…

That beautiful being gave us all a voice, we had a wonderful band because we had a wonderful leader… A true leader of the band! Mr. Dietz, Uncle Roger , Your example lives on in the teacher I’ve become and  in the Martial Artists I teach!

Thank you, forever grateful,

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

