Working on Spirituality…

This past week I decided to spend my vacation painting my kitchen. Funny when you write painting my kitchen it doesn’t seem such a chore… However what the sentence doesn’t convey are the many woman hours peeling wall paper border, cleaning up after each messy task and the actual painting of the ceiling,walls and trim.

During this journey into manual labor I found my self almost in a state of “runner’s zen.” The one minded focus of physically working allowed me to get centered. This is the type of “oneness” I get when running and with my martial art practice. I assume this is the reasoning behind doing chores in a monastery . There is a certain spiritual cleansing when the body is pushed and a task is completed. I believe the sense of  accomplishment is a mini Satori of sorts.

The Buddha said enlightenment can only be achieved through pain and suffering. So working on spirituality should involve labor…

Something to meditate on when I paint the hallway…

Ginnie

One thought on “Working on Spirituality…

  1. Haha, this is great. I just painted a room in our house a couple weeks ago and if you can’t capture this “zen-ness”, then it’s just impossible to complete the requirement!

Leave a Reply

