Kneading Traditions…

Easter like many of the holidays has its special traditions. One of these traditions in my Portuguese American family is making sweetbread. For those of you unfamiliar with “masa” or Portuguese sweetbread it is a delicious bread made with simple ingredients; flour,eggs, butter,water milk,sugar,salt and yeast. It is made into loves usually round and during Easter often has whole eggs in the center. In my family it isn’t unheard of to make five or more pounds of this delicious treat at a time. The breads are baked and given away to family and friends as a gesture of good will and celebration of the season.

These past two years I’ve been taking over the reigns from my mom. Mom is seventy-nine and the kneading has become too difficult, so she “needs” my help. This experience has been both a joy and a privilege, sharing this time with my mom and learning something from my heritage. It is wonderful to be connected to a thread that has been a part of my family and my culture for so many years. Traditions provide a comforting feeling that life will continue after we’re gone.

Call me crazy but as I was kneading that bread I felt there were many hands in there with mine…

Blessings of the season,

Ginnie

 

 

Leave a Reply

