Fifty Five…

“The days they pass so quickly now nights are seldom long” Opening lines of the second verse of John Denver’s Poems Prayers and Promises. Pretty much describes life  at fifty… Today I turned fifty-five, how that happened is still a mystery to me! Being fifty-five isn’t nearly as scary as getting here and not realizing how!

I’ve never really thought about age as a number and truthfully the only age that bothered me was thirty-five. There is something about the fives – Mid decade that always gives me pause. I guess it’s a place to reflect on the decade you’re in and the one that’s approaching. There has been a lot of reflection these past few days on living a Good Life – Not in the “Jet Set” fashion, but being good and doing good. Leaving this planet better than you found it. My hope is to do that until I breathe my last breath…

As for today, I celebrated with the people who are closest to me, whether it was by phone, facebook or over a steak dinner. I am blessed with their presence – Life is made special by the people in it…

here is to another forty-five, I planning on 100!

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

