Giants…

Being a fan of the New York Giants isn’t a popular position in Rhode Island heck even with my mother…

So why are you a fan of the Giants I hear you asking? Here is why; First the Patriots didn’t even exist until 1960. The American Foot Ball league was looked upon in the same light as the old UFL or Canadian League Football. My dad and uncles weren’t interested in second rate leagues and the closest team was the New York Foot Ball Giants.

I remember the late 60’s sitting in front of a black and white television. The 70’s when Fran Tarkenton scrambled his way to the Vikings. The 80’s with the Tuna and probably the greatest defensive player of all time #56 Lawrence Taylor. Dad and I would sit in the same place every Sunday and call Phil Simms a bum and blame my mother for jinxing the team when she walked into the living room. My dad and I actually banned my mother from being in the house when they played in the Super Bowl! This was father daughter time at its finest. After winning the Super Bowl dad bought me earrings in the shape of Giant Helmets. Dad wasn’t a shopper, on his own he bought me three things. Those earrings, the Sound of Music on VHS and an audio tape of (The Bird), Charlie Parker. So it was memorable it was special. Dad had passed and wasn’t here when the Giants beat the Broncos, but he was with me as I watched the kick go wide right…

Then Bob Kraft hired Bill Parcells (one of my heros) and I started following the Patriots. When Coach Parcells left I still followed the Patriots and attended games with friends all the while holding on to my Giant Roots. Then Bill Belichick became the Patriots coach. The mad genius behind the Giant’s vaunted D of the 80’s was now head coach! By this time I had dual citizenship to NE and NY. Ironically my mom became a fan of the Pats.

I guess you can say I’m a fan of both teams, however to honor the memory of my dad and uncles, I wear Giants colors. I wear the blue for  the Giants that played the game but more importantly for the Giant men who taught me to love the game…

Good luck and may the best team win,

Ginnie

 

Leave a Reply

