Soup…

Today my mom made me my favorite soup! It’s my grandmother’s recipe, my fraternal grandmother’s. It was the perfect day too, with temps barely reaching twenty degrees. It was a warm and welcomed treat.

Funny how certain foods can take you back. If I’d closed my eyes I know I would have been jettisoned back to my grandmother’s kitchen. Where I would be sitting at her 50’s styled kitchen table with the red vinyl chair seats. My grandmother would be in her familiar  apron and a black sweater telling me to eat,eat its good for you.

This simple soup probably a staple in the depression, is a rare and wonderful treat for me now. More than a meal it nourishes my body and soul. Maybe we all need a little more soup – Love by the bowl full!

 

Enjoy!

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

