Past Looks

Today as I was driving to class I passed where my uncle Ted once had his sweet corn stand. Mind you I pass this same spot four to six times a day, but today when I drove by I saw it the way it used to be. It was like my brain rewound and gave me a look from my past.

They say there is no such thing as time and in that moment I believed it! It was the early seventies and uncle Ted’s green pick up was parked in the back of the stand. He was wearing his grey dockers with his sleeves rolled up and my aunt Helen was working the front wearing an apron over her dress. The fields behind the stand were lush with corn and I could almost hear the two bantering back and forth.

All that happened in a nano second yet it seemed so much longer. The traffic started moving. I hated to go the way you hate a dream to end. Magically the vision and the feeling are still with me now. What an unexpected blessing – What a great start to the day!

Here’s wishing you some Past Looks…

 

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

