Things Change…

We count on traditions especially on days like Thanksgiving. They give us a sense of security and continuity that life goes on. Except things change, we grow older and there’s a changing of the guard kids become moms –  Moms become grandmothers and so it goes. The dynamic is in constant flux.

This year we had an ample  share of flux to go with our turkey and pie! One of the most difficult changes for me was missing the “Pie Run”. I’ve been a part of that run since 1999. When I wore an autographed shirt by all my students to inspire me – That was a truly memorable run. There were many other wonderful memories running with friends and students, perfect strangers, old men,  and cancer survivors. I missed the sense of gratitude we all shared – The coming together to celebrate life and the run!

Today was all about easing the burden from my mom (another change) although I truly enjoyed our time together a bit of me was running by St. George’s School glad to have made it up the hill…

Happy Thanksgiving,

Ginnie

 

Leave a Reply

