White Belt Again…

For those of you unfamiliar with the ranking system in martial arts, white belt is a beginner. It’s the beginning of your journey – A martial artists’ childhood – No matter what age they started. Being a beginner is like spring, fresh and new. There are so many first experiences and everything is exciting. Even after twenty-seven years of training there are days when I get that white belt feeling. Today was one of them. Anytime I get to share a new experience through my students, I’m back at white belt.

My students competed in a tournament today. A first time for many.  To see their excitement and feel their nervous anticipation brought me back (cue Glory Days) to my first tournaments. These moments are what I live for, seeing students loving what I love. Learning lessons only the arts can teach. Sharing the victories and the defeats while celebrating both!

AS for me, a sixth dan looms in my future and although it’s a honor to be considered for testing and I welcome the challenge. I’d do anything to be a white belt again…

Master A

Leave a Reply

