This Moment…

During these past two days I’ve experienced being in the moment from two very different perspectives.  I spent yesterday assisting my stepfather with splitting wood. For those of you unfamiliar with this process you take a cut log and split it with a machine. The work is tedious and laborious. For seven hours I operated the splitter while my stepfather and his daughter placed logs on the machine. There was no talking because the machine was so loud speaking would be pointless, so we worked in silence. My mind and body were one with the work. It was like long distance running the mind numbing repetitive physical experience blanked out all thoughts of the past and the future, all that remained was now. I can see why  monks work in silence, because it brings a sense of focused peace which can only be experienced through silent labor.

Today I took a more familiar avenue – A trip into nature. I let the day take me and I ended up at one of my favorite places Sauchest Point. I had my camera a book and a bottle of water. I followed a path to a shore access and walked the beach. I came upon a secluded spot not too far from the waters edge and sat down in what can only be described as a natural recliner. I sat  silently drinking in the gloriousness of the day. Feeling a peace I rarely get except when silent in nature. Hearing every step I took along the beach and gravel path gave me a sense of my place on the earth.  My thoughts like that of the young rabbit I spied along the path were only in and of the now.

How ironic on the weekend where we celebrate a discoverer, I discover  being in the tmoment…

 

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

