Believing We’re Deserving…

We don’t get what we deserve – We get what we believe we deserve… Understanding that I’m using deserve in the context of things we have control over attaining. Many of us so called together people usually have one or two areas of “deserving disbelief”. For what ever reasons we believe we don’t deserve success, love, friendship, a good body, money or any number of attainable goals we deny ourselves. Why? The answers are as numerous as those afflicted with this form of self sabotage. Millions of dollars have been spent and made in the Self-Help movement addressing this issue. Yet we still continue with the same behaviors that deny ourselves what we desire. I don’t have any answers for the rest of you but I will share what I’m going to do for myself, and my students.

First I have to realize what I perceive is missing, love, money , an object it doesn’t matter. What matters is I realize my “deserving disbelief” is blocking ME from moving forward. Not to be confused with sitting there and saying I deserve a million dollars and expecting  Ed McMahon at your door the next day. We need to realize we are in our own way, and figure out why we are blocking ourselves. After you’ve figured out why you do it, now write a plan of action to move yourself forward. The next part is the most important TELL PEOPLE, make your self accountable… I’m going to lose X number of Lbs, because I DESERVE A Great Body… or X Dollars or whatever… Do the same for friends pat each other on the back. Heck it worked for McDonald’s how many people went there because, They Deserved A Break Today?  Imagine if we all helped each other out this way?

I’m going to initiate this experiment with a few close friends and staff . I’m going to share my big block, and ask them to share their block with me. It’s worth a shot if anything we will all be getting much deserved help, love and friendship. Not a bad place to start.

 

Ginnie

 

Leave a Reply

