Warrior Advice…

I just got through reading a blog from Mr. Tom Callos, who I consider a mentor and a teacher. He ended his blog with this quote from Musashi. ” By studying one thing in depth, you can understand ten-thousand things.”  For those of you unfamiliar with Miyomoto Musashi he was thought to be the one of the greatest Samurai Warriors. Musashi was also reputed to be an outstanding poet, and calligrapher. So he walked his talk, by practicing discipline with the sword he was disciplined in all manors of the arts.

This concept is rarely visited in today’s, App for that world. Where having more and doing more is the general rule. Can you imagine practicing discipline? I remember when asked about my martial arts style, people would ask what discipline do you study?  Currently these days people will ask what kind of martial arts to you do? First of all how does one do martial arts? The greater point is for many people martial arts or other disciplines such as dance and music have become mindless activities, instead of an activity for the mind. Have we lost our way and can we go back?  I’m unsure of the answer, I do know if we continue to look for “things to do” without understanding what we are truly doing. We are going to continue on the path of being a Jack of All Trades and A Master of None…

As a martial art TEACHER it is up to me to practice my discipline in a way that teaches discipline to my students…  In Musashi’s time this would have been considered mastery – It is my hope it still is…

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

