When the Past is a Present…

This week, I’ve been revisiting the experience of teaching Karate Camp. It’s been a number of years since I’ve taught and run a camp.  I’m usually in the role of administrator,due to the staffing availability and schedule structure it was easier if I resumed this long time duty.  To say I have mixed feelings would be an understatement, I love teaching, but the hours are long and my leg endurance is short. These past two days have been long and hard, but at the same time have invigorated me.

I’ve created a camp from the recesses of my martial art memory. I’ve been sharing things so far from my past that many of my advance students have never practiced or seen. What a gift it has been to teach these wonderful concepts and to share them with such willing students. I’ve learned several things from this process; One children are far more capable than we give them credit for, so don’t dumb down to them. Two revisiting old technique is like re-reading a book or re-watching an old favorite movie – You find something new each time and its fun! Three sharing a part of your past can be an Awesome Present, for you and who you share it with…

Share your gifts, be A Present!

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

