Single Focus…

I’m at the other end of the spectrum from yesterday – Running Thoughts to Single Focus . Yet isn’t that how life goes?  Each day takes on its’ own theme. Today’s thoughts came from thirty single focused minutes with a seven wood at the driving range.

Anyone who’s ever attempted to play the game of golf knows that it is the most frustrating and exasperating way to spend a day. There are too many reason to explain why this is true. If you don’t believe me ask someone who’s played or watch a match on television. Even the world’s greatest golfers can’t master a perfect shot each and every attempt. However they do it ninety-five percent of the time, conversely a hacker such as myself is happy to hit a great shot five percent of the time! Which is why I was at the driving range PRACTICE… Call me crazy but I love to practice! I enjoy the single minded focus of perfecting one element. It is another form of moving meditation in the same way martial arts and running are for me. Whether it’s improving my endurance, a kata or a golf swing,  I’m in a zone when I practice. My only thought is the outcome of that practice. So what’s the big deal? I hear you saying, my AHA moment today; If I treat living like a practice session for (fill in your own) wouldn’t I be at peace more often?

It’s worth a try, so what are you waiting for? Go PRACTICE…

 

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

