Running Thoughts…

Make them stop! How can we control the never ending stream of thoughts? From the moment I awaken to the moment I fall asleep my mind races. Thoughts run through my head like those horrible message boards seen in business –  You know the ones that keep circulating the same message in a loop! The problem is ninety-nine percent of these thoughts are unproductive.  One Giant To Do List: Feed Cats, get to the gym, remember to get gas, check for appointments, confirm appointments, out of tooth paste… This is my first five minutes! We all do this, we get caught up with the Business of living, and forget about the lives we’re living!  Add the billion or so messages we are constantly being bombarded with and it’s a miracle our brains haven’t short circuited.  No wonder we’re overwhelmed, stressed and fatigued?

What are the solutions?  There are a few that have worked for me in the past, and I find myself revisiting them, so I’ll share. First feed your mind! “What?” I hear you saying. Like an empty stomach growling when it’s hungry the mind craves sustenance. I start the day with reading something from a spiritual or educational text. In fact feed your mind before breakfast. The second is work your body. Much of the rhetoric in our heads is from stress and fatigue, we are better able to deal with both when we are physically fit. You don’t have to do anything special just go for a walk. You’ll be getting exercise and you’re putting some distance between you and a source of stress. Who knows you may even resolve a problem or two. I always get my best resolutions after a workout especially a run. Lastly and the most difficult – Sit and meditate. This takes discipline and patience ( both are endangered species). However if you can train yourself to just sit quietly for one minute and add another minute each day, you will have accomplished sitting for a total of twenty-eight minutes at the end of your week!  When was the last time that happened?

All kidding aside, we need to stop these running thoughts and start THINKING about our lives!

Namaste,

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

