A Fork In The Road..

We all are familiar with the child parent conversation of wants vs needs. There is an even more important distinction that we need to make and that is Want to’s vs Committed to.’s.  Being a master teacher in the martial arts I’ve had to face this “fork in the road” many times in my practice and in the practice of my students. Everyone wants to be a black belt but very few are committed to becoming one. Discipline and commitment go hand in hand, they are difficult teachers and humans are inherently lazy. We all want success, a healthy body, a meaningful relationship and all the wonderful feelings these bring. The question is; Are we committed to the work it takes?

I wasn’t always disciplined it started with my training for black belt. It  was obvious I wouldn’t get a black belt, just from wanting to be a black belt. I had to commit myself to training hard. This lesson has taught me the value of  commitment. Now when confronted with a desire such as writing a blog I ask myself is this something I want to do or is this something I’m committed to doing?  In the end you may have a lot less unfulfilled wishes and a few more wonderful experiences, because of the road you chose.

Frost said it best;

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in the wood, and I-

took the one less traveled by,

and that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost.

Chose wisely,

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

