Path-Ology…

First let me make it clear I like my physician and I’m a former nurse with a good understanding of “Western Medicine” AKA Modern Medicine… I’d like to also state that this blog contains far more opinion than fact! Now that the disclaimer is out of the way here is the rant; It’s been eleven days since I was “tripped up”with a hip injury. During these past eleven days I’ve visited a massage therapist, consulted my brother (also a massage therapist) surfed the net for anything remotely matching my complaint, researched varied books on holistic and Traditional Oriental Medicine. I’ve whined, cried, cursed, laughed, prayed and even spoke to the cats about my hip. Today I saw my physician for my yearly physical. After finding out I have a BMI of 22 I’m in the 8th percentile for my height and weight! My blood pressure is 96/58, P 56. I voiced my concern about my left hip and gave him a history of my injury and what measure were taken. He performed a cursory exam checking flexibility and range of motion, telling me both are excellent for my age! They may be but they are not as good as they are normally. He then buried his head into his lap top computer and presto, diagnosed bursitis.  An X-Ray and anti-inflammatory medication were ordered. Then I was told if it wasn’t better come back in two weeks so he can shoot me up with steroids! I asked if he could possibly write a consultation for Physical Therapy? He said not until we go through the medications and steroids first!

I’m so disappointed in where western medicine is going, first the computer seemed to hold more of his attention then I did. Second his readiness to prescribe medications without going a less invasive route first. Then again I doubt if there are PT reps visiting his office with the latest exercises and new pens.  Believe me I’m well aware of the stressful position that physicians find themselves in. Medicine has become all about the bottom line just like any other business. Insurance and drug companies have a noose around all our necks and until we don’t take back some control of  our health care from madison avenue , the final Pathology result will be TERMINAL…

Leave a Reply

