Re-Tracing Steps…

Have you ever been caught up being busy, lose something, then have to stop and Re-trace your steps to find  what you lost?   I believe this can happen with ourselves as well. We’re so busy being our resumes’ , a 54 year old martial art school owner, former registered nurse, daughter of Manuel and Sarah, amateur photographer, blogger, runner… (fill in yours). Get the picture? Fulfilling all the roles, getting caught up in the persona and losing the person. Then we have this moment of realization that we’ve lost something. We wonder how did I get here? This isn’t where I intended to go or who I intended to be. These mini satori happen periodically throughout our lives.  I’m there now.  You have this scary/excited kind of anticipation, the kind you may have before leaving on a long journey or starting a new relationship.  In a way you are,  you’re  embarking on a journey of rediscovering yourself… I’ve come to notice these as cycles in my life, usually occurring ten to fifteen years apart. Ironically it’s been a little over fourteen years since I opened the school, and ten years since I’ve left nursing.  New road signs are placed in my path. Such as; friends giving me books on service, mentors in the martial art industry who’ve got me to blog, and minor injuries that have sidelined me giving me time to think. Having an opportunity to study Shiatsu has reopened my eyes and heart to the Tao, and Buddhist philosophy. I’m not sure if all of these are part of a whole or just pleasant off road excursions. I’ll let you know after I’m done Re-tracing my steps…

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

