Staying Flexible On The Road…

Flexibility is not to be overlooked! This opening sentence has meaning on so many levels… (Insert whine about recent injury), as you may know by now I’ve sustained an aggravating injury.  The injury may or may not have been due to a lack of flexibility  but it could have been worse if I hadn’t been moderately flexible and it could have been less if I was very flexible.  This notion got me to thinking on all the other areas in life that may have had a different outcomes because of flexibility .

I’m not just speaking about  physical flexibility but  flexibility in my beliefs. How many times has my thinking been rigid about a person, a place, a religion, my time, the  list is endless! I’m so glad that I was flexible enough to believe a woman of twenty-seven can start martial arts and that same woman at forty could open her own school!  I’m also saddened that there may have been times where I wasn’t flexible enough in a relationship and lost a friend. There may have been a time or two when my schedule wasn’t flexible enough to have spent with a loved one who’s now passed. How many foods have gone untasted, experiences lost because of my rigid beliefs…

Let’s take this to a universal level, how many wars have been waged and lives lost because of our “lack of flexibility”?  The lesson for today is to practice stretching in all areas of our lives, it’s a great way to prevent injuries!

(Tao 76)

“At birth all people are soft and yielding.

At death they are hard and stiff,

All green plants are tender and yielding.

At death they are brittle and dry.

When hard and rigid,

We consort with death.

When soft and flexible,

We affirm greater life.”

Blessings,

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

