Moving Retreat…

A good friend of mine just returned from an Episcopalian Youth Conference. She was telling me how renewed and grounded she felt after being there for five days. I can see how being focused on spirituality for five days can be a re-birth of spirit, but it is so hard to have that intense focus in our daily lives. We get caught up in making a living and the physical side of life that we forget to feed our spirit. There are as many ways to feed our spirits as there are people – BUT do we?

Life is getting harder we ‘re bombarded with all kinds of messages on how we don’t measure up; physically, socially, financially … So how do we feed our spirit?  Again the ways are numerous all I can tell you is to schedule the time, preferably alone. One of my favorite ways is running, a moving retreat. I’m totally connected to the universe, all five senses are engaged. During my runs I often say prayers or sing songs (in my head) I’m immersed in the here and now mindful of all that I am and all that I have. 

So take time to retreat inward and connect to God and his universe because in the end our spirits are the only things that have to measure up.

Peace,

Ginnie

Leave a Reply

